A leprosy village in India
english versiondeutsche Version
Support from Austria
Mag. Claudia Vilanek

Claudia, who was born in 1964 in Innsbruck, Austria, is a psychologist and communication trainer and has three sons, who accompany her on her trips abroad. Since her first longer visit when she was 18 years old, she has returned regularly to Little Flower and supported the project with donations from Austria.
Claudia Vilanek

In 1985 she received the Eduard Wallnöfer Award for "the most courageous initiative for the good of Tirol" and in 1988 she was granted the Bruno Kreisky Award for her work and dedication to and furthering of human rights.

"The address I had in my pocket was that of Mother Teresa in Calcutta, and the motivation for my trip was, on the one hand, to see how far I could extend myself and, on the other, to explore life by getting to know people who had none of the things that I took for granted where I had grown up: safety and security, enough to eat and drink, and being surrounded by nice and pleasant things. I wanted to know what kept people going when they didn’t have any of this. I thought to myself that this is what the essence of life must be about. What motivation do the people in the streets of Calcutta still have? What is the essence of life?

The answer is simple: above all it is the longing for relationship and a sense of belonging. This became very clear to me in the months that I spent in Sunderpur at the border between India and Nepal.

Here in this small community of crippled people I found such strength and a love of life despite the cruelty of this disease because these people were embedded in a close-knit, caring relationship system and through Brother Christdas’ support were able to lead a life free of humiliation and discrimmination.
page 1 of 2     [ next page ]

Ein Lepradorf in Indien
Hilfe aus Österreich
Mag. Claudia Vilanek
Geboren 1964 in Innsbruck

Psychologin und Kommunikationstrainerin in Salzburg, Mutter dreier Söhne, die sie auf ihren Reisen begleiten, fährt seit ihrem ersten längeren Aufenthalt mit achtzehn Jahren immer wieder nach Little Flower und unterstützt das Projekt mit Spenden aus Österreich.
Claudia Vilanek

Sie wurde für ihr Engagement 1985 mit dem Eduard Wallnöfer Preis „für die mutigste Initiative zum Wohle unseres Landes“ und 1988 mit dem Bruno Kreisky Preis für Verdienste um die Menschenrechte ausgezeichnet:

„Die Adresse in meiner Tasche war die von Mutter Teresa in Kalkutta, die Motivation meiner Reise wohl, ein Stück meine Grenzen auszuleuchten und das Leben zu erforschen im Kontakt mit Menschen, denen all jenes fehlte, was mir so selbstverständlich war im Umfeld meiner Herkunft: Sicherheit, Sattheit, das Umgebensein von schönen, angenehmen Dingen. - Ich wollte wissen, was übrig bleibt, und nur das konnte es ja sein, was Leben wirklich ausmacht - was bleibt den Menschen in den Straßen Kalkuttas als Motivation, um weiterzuleben? Was also macht Leben letztlich aus?

Die Antwort ist einfach: über allem steht die Sehnsucht, in Beziehung zu sein. Das wurde mir in den Monaten, die ich dann in Sunderpur an der Grenze zwischen Indien und Nepal verbrachte, sehr klar:

In dieser kleinen Gemeinschaft entstellter Menschen fand ich Kraft und Lebensfreude trotz der Grausamkeit dieser Krankheit, weil die Menschen sich hier in einer Gemeinschaft einander zugewandt erlebten und die Erfahrung teilten, dass ihnen durch die Unterstützung von Bruder Christdas die Chance auf ein Leben jenseits von Demütigung und Diskriminierung möglich war.
Seite 1 von 2     [ nächste Seite ]