A leprosy village in India
english versiondeutsche Version
The Project
The Head of Little Flower

Brother Christdas, the head of Little Flower, who only really performs the job of an administrator in the association, was born in southern India. His mother tongue is Malayalam, the language of the Keralas. He studied theology in Bangalore, and it is there that he first encountered people suffering from leprosy. This experience was such a shock for him that he wanted to quit his studies at that time and immediately dedicate his whole life to leprosy patients.
leader

He finished his studies but his decision had been made, and the only thing that mattered in choosing the order he wanted to join was which one would allow him to work with people who have leprosy. This ended up being the branch of Mother Teresa’s order for men, the Missionaries of Charity. So he worked on leprosy projects in this order, often exchanging ideas with Mother Teresa.


leader2

He did this until the winter of 1981, when he reacted to the cries for help from patients in Bihar and went there to found the project “Little Flower” under the patronage of the Bishop of Muzzafapur. He set foot on this path, accompanied by a few friends and like-minded companions, with only a nylon bag full of money from a generous donor on his lap and an amazingly optimistic spirit.Not only Little Flower has gotten 25 years older but also Brother Christdas, whom all people in the village call Baba. He is the father figure and authority, the ultimate decision maker and mediator, the visionary and entrepreneurial spirit, … he came with burning enthusiasm, which has spread like wildfire.

Ein Lepradorf in Indien
Das Projekt
ehem. Leitung

Bruder Christdas, der Leiter von Little Flower, der im Verein selbst formal nur die Funktion des Secretaries innehat, kommt ursprünglich aus dem Süden von Indien, seine Muttersprache ist Malayalam, die Sprache Keralas, er studierte Theologie in Bangalore, und kam dort in Berührung mit Leprakranken.Diese Begegnung erschütterte ihn so sehr, dass er damals sein Studium aufgeben wollte und sofort und gänzlich sein Leben den Leprakranken widmen.
leader

Er schloss sein Studium ab, aber sein Entschluss war gefasst, und bei der Auswahl einer Ordensgemeinschaft war nur dies entscheidend: welche Gemeinschaft würde es ihm ermöglichen, mit Leprakranken zu arbeiten. Dies war schließlich der männliche Zweig des Ordens der Mutter Teresa, Die Missionare der Nächstenliebe, und so arbeitete er viele Jahre in dieser Ordensgemeinschaft in Lepraprojekten und in engem Austausch mit Mutter Teresa.


leader2

Bis er im Winter 1981 dem Hilferuf der Patienten aus Bihar folgte und dort unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bischofs von Muzzafapur das Projekt „Little Flower“ startete – mit einigen Freunden und Weggefährten als Begleitern, mit einem Nylonsack voll Geld eines großzügigen Spenders im Schoß und einer Riesenportion Zuversicht im Herzen war er diesen Weg angetreten.Nicht nur Little Flower ist 25 Jahre älter geworden. Auch Bruder Christdas, den im Dorf alle Baba nennen – er ist Vaterfigur und Autorität, der Letztentscheider und Schlichter, der Visionär und unternehmerische Geist, … er kam mit dem Feuer der Überzeugungskraft, die alle ansteckte.


Bruder Christdas - Man of the year 2009 Das Magazin “The week” in Delhi hat Bruder Christdas zum Mann des Jahres 2009 gewählt, lesen Sie den englischen Artikel [mehr]

Update: NUN GIBT ES DEN ARTIKEL AUCH IN DER DEUTSCHEN ÜBERSETZUNG [mehr]
Seite 1 von 3     [ nächste Seite ]