A leprosy village in India
english versiondeutsche Version
The Project
Areas of work, trades and business statistics of Little Flower

About 225 people are employed on a full-time basis in Little Flower. In addition, 85 elderly and severly disabled people, who can only make small contributions to the community, do some type of work that is suited to their abilities and for which they receive a kind of pension.
work

Many young men work as rickshaw drivers outside of Sunderpur in Raxaul, as waiters in Birgung, as taxi drivers, as cooks in Duncon Hospital, … but still live in the village with their families. In line with Indian tradition it is mostly the daughters who leave Sunderpur to move to where their husbands’ families live. The sons, however, bring their wives home and so the sons of Little Flower stay in the village.

The wages in Little Flower are low, even for this state, which ranks lowest of all the states in India in terms of its standard of living. In contrast to this, Bihar boasts two superlatives: it ranks first in India’s statistics on literacy and available health care.

It is important to point out that the following social benefits have to be figured into the people’s low base income in Little Flower:
  • free schooling for children
  • free health care in Little Flower itself and if necessary at nearby hospitals
  • inexpensive groceries
  • the houses people live in are their property
page 1 of 3     [ next page ]

Ein Lepradorf in Indien
Das Projekt
Arbeitsbereiche und Wirtschaftsdaten von Little Flower

Es arbeiten in Little Flower ca.225 vollwertige Arbeiter. Darüber hinaus finden 85 alte und schwer behinderte Menschen, die nur kleine Beiträge für die Gemeinschaft leisten können, hier eine Arbeit, die sich am Grad ihrer Behinderung orientiert und für die sie eine Art Pension bekommen.
work

Viele junge Männer arbeiten nun außerhalb von Sunderpur in Raxaul - als Rikshawfahrer, als Kellner in Birgunj, als Taxifahrer, als Koch im Duncon Hospital, … wohnen aber weiterhin mit ihren Familien im Dorf. Wie es die indische Tradition verlangt, sind es meist die Töchter, die Sunderpur verlassen, um zur Familie ihres Mannes zu ziehen, die Söhne allerdings bringen ihre Frauen nach Hause und so bleiben auch die Söhne von Little Flower im Dorf.

Die Gehälter in Little Flower sind niedrig, auch für diesen letzt gereihten Staat in der gesamten Staatenreihe Indiens, was die Lebensqualität anbelangt. Umgekehrt hat Bihar zwei Superlativen aufzuweisen: in Sachen Analphabetismus und fehlende Gesundenversorgung ist Bihar erst gereiht in der indischen Statistik.

In Little Flower muss man allerdings zum niedrigen Ausgangsgehalt folgende Vergünstigungen und kostenlose Sozialleistungen hinzurechnen:
  • Kostenloser Schulbesuch der Kinder
  • Kostenlose Gesundenversorgung in Little Flower, aber auch außerhalb
  • Vergünstigte Lebensmittel
  • Das Häuschen, in dem eine Familie wohnt, ist ihr Eigentum
Seite 1 von 4     [ nächste Seite ]